Singapore, December 4 - 6, 2015

(16th Meeting of the Asia Pacific Group)

At the Fullerton Hotel, Singapore

Conference Chairman: Yasuchika Hasegawa

Friday, December 4


Saturday, December 5

09:30 - 09:09:45
Opening Remarks by Yasuchika Hasegawa, Asia Pacific Chairman
Welcome Remarks by Barry Desker, Distinguished Fellow, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS), Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

09:945 - 11:00

Session 1: ASEAN Integration: Prospects and Challenges
Chair: Barry Desker, Distinguished Fellow, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS), Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Speaker: K. Shanmugam, MInister for Home Affairs and Law; Former Minister for Foreign Affairs
Panel: Roberto F. de Ocampo, Chairman, Board of Advisors, RFO Center for Public Finance and Regional Economic Cooperation
Somkiat Tangkitvanich, President, Thailand Development Research Institute

11:15 - 12:30
Session 2: East Asia Security
Chair: John Hewson, Professor and Chair Tax and Transfer Policy Institute Crawford School ANU and former Leader of the Liberal Party of Australia and Leader of the Opposition
Panel:  Lee Shin-wha, Professor of Korea University and UN Secretary-General's Advisor on Peacebuilding Fund 
Hitosji Tanaka, Chairman of the Institute for International Strategy (IIS), Japan Research Institute, Ltd.
Wu Jianmin, Vice Chairman of China Institute for Innovation and Development Strategy

12:30 - 13:45
Luncheon: Speech on the "Law of the Sea"
Chair: Bilahari Kausikan, Ambassador-at-Latge and Policy Advisor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Speaker: Robert Beckman, Director, Center of International Law, National University of Singapore

14:00 - 15:30
Session 3: Regional Economic Cooperation 1 - AIIB, One Belt, One Road
Chair: Hong Seok-Hyun, Chairman and CEO, Joong Ang Media Network (JMnet)
Panel: Lawrence Lau, Ralph and Claire Landau Professor of Economics and former Vice Chancellor/President, Chinese University of Honk Kong
Tarisa Watanagase, Former Governor, The Bank of Thailand
Naoki Tanaka, President, Center for International Public Policy Studies

15:45 - 17:15
Session 4: Regional Economic Cooperation 2 - Modinomics and the Future of India
Chair: Teh Kok Peng, Former Chairman, Axcendas Pte td. Singapore
Panel: Bidisha Ganguly, Principal Economist, Confederation of Indian Industry
Jung Ku-Hyun, President, The Seol Forum for International Affairs
Amitendu Palit, Senior Research Fellow of Institute of South Asian Studies (ISAS)

Sunday, December 6

09:00 -10:15
Session 5: Preliminary Disscussion on the Building an Orderly International Migration Regime Task Force
Chair: Ong Keng Yong, Executive Deputy Chairman, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies
Presentation: Mely Caballero-Anthony, Associate Professor and head of the Centre for Non-Traditional Security (NTS) Studies, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS), Nanyang Technilogical University (Asia Pacific Task Force author)
Comment: Akihiko Tanaka, Professor of International Politics at the Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia (IASA), University of Tokyo

10:30 - 11:45
Session 6: Suggested Topic: Beyond TPP
Chair: Yasuchika Hasegawa, Asia Pacific Chairman
Panel: Koji Tsuruoka, Japan's Chief negotiator for the Trans-Pacific Partnership talks
Deborah Elms, Director, The Asian Trade Center in Sinapore; foremer head, the Temasek Foundation Centre for Trade and Negotiations at RSIS

11:45 - 12:00 
Closing remarks by Yasuchika Hasegawa and Barry Desker