60 – A Tribute to Mario Vargas Llosa, European Member, 1997-2009


The Nobel Prize in Literature 2010 was awarded to Mario Vargas Llosa “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt, and defeat.”

Vargas Llosa, a Peruvian writer and politician, is considered one of the major Latin American authors of his generation. A citizen of Spain as well as Peru and a member of the Spanish Royal Academy, he was a member of the European Group of the Trilateral Commission for more than ten years and a contributor to the Commission’s meetings even before. This commemorative brochure recalls three of his addresses to the Commission.

Table of Contents

“Local Cultures and Globalization,” Trialogue 54, Tokyo 2000, The Annual Meeting of The Trilateral Commission, p. 4

“Latin America: The Democratic Option,” Trialogue 39: The San Francisco Meeting of the Trilateral Commission, March 1987, p. 11

“Grenada in Two Movements,” Trialogue 35: Sovereignty and Intervention, March 1984, p. 17

  • Topics: Trade
  • Region:  North America, Europe, Pacific Asia
  • Publisher:  The Trilateral Commission
  • Publication Date:  © October 7, 2010
  • Pages:  Out of Print
  • Source:  Trilateral
  • Complete Text: Click here to download
  • Keywords: 

    Latin America, Democracy, Globalization, Grenada, Sovereignty