David Rockefeller Fellows

The Trilateral Commission, founded by David Rockefeller in 1973, has established a program to select a number of David Rockefeller Fellows to join its meetings. The Commission’s Executive Committee voted in March 2013 to create a Fellows program in each region - Europe, Pacific Asia and North America and invite the Fellows to plenary and regional meetings for a term of three years each - both to honor the Commission’s founder and to benefit from the views and experiences of a generation of young leaders.

Each regional Group will manage its own selection process. For information about the selection process in the European Group click here and for the Asia Pacific Group click here. In North America, five David Rockefeller Fellows are chosen annually - three from the U.S. and one each from Canada and Mexico. The initial group of Fellows from North American attended the April 2014 Washington plenary. Fellows from Europe and Pacific Asia joined at that time as well. 

The Commission seeks David Rockefeller Fellows who are 35 years or younger. In North America, each Fellow must be nominated by a Member of the Commission. Two seconds are also required, preferably at least one of which comes from another Commission Member. A selection committee in each national group - Canada, Mexico and the U.S. - will evaluate candidates and nominate finalists to the North American Trustees and Executive Committee Members by the Fall of 2014. Fellows selected in 2014 will begin attending meetings at the 2015 plenary meeting in Seoul, Korea on April 24-26, 2015.

The Commission has set aside funding to support the travel of David Rockefeller Fellows to meetings as necessary, but will also require regular attendance at both annual plenary and regional meetings. All Fellows selected by the North American Group must be citizens or permanent residents of the North American country - Canada, Mexico or the United States - against whose quota they will count.

Interested applicants for one of the three U.S. Fellowships who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents should seek the recommendation of at least one U.S. member of the Commission. Nominations must be received by the Commission via letter to the Commission’s office at 1156 Fifteenth Street, N.W., Suite 505, Washington, D.C. 20005 or via email to Michael O’Neil, no later than October 24, 2014. Nominations must include the name, affiliation, biography, date of birth, citizenship and an email address at which the selection committee can contact the candidate.  Nominations of individuals known to those nominating them will receive greater consideration.